Women's Basketball Northern All-Division Honors

Hibbing's Bethany Baldwin and her Cardinal teammates will host the Region XIIIB Tournament March 1-2.
Hibbing's Bethany Baldwin and her Cardinal teammates will host the Region XIIIB Tournament March 1-2.

Rochester, MN- 

In the Minnesota College Athletic Conference, women's basketball teams in the Northern Division battled from start to finish in the regular season with several teams in the hunt for post-season spots.  In the end, two teams tied for top honors with Hibbing Community College and Northland Community & Technical College claiming co-champion honors.  Central Lakes College had a solid season of play and earned third place in the regular season standings and the No. 3 seed for post-season.  Rainy River Community College captured the fourth and final seed in the post-season, to be held at Hibbing Community College. Lake Superior College fielded a women's basketball team for the first time in 2018-19, turning in a 7-9 inaugural Conference mark, matched by Itasca Community College in coach John Bauer's final season.  Mesabi Range College, Vermilion Community College and Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College all head to the recruiting trail to rebuild for the 2019-20 campaign.   Coach-of-the-Year voting was as close as the Divisional race and was decided by a narrow margin; Kate Brau of Hibbing Community College claimed COY in the Northern Division for 2018-19. 

The 15-player MCAC Northern All-Division selections- as nominated by and voted on by Conference coaches - has been named and is available at this link and is also listed below: 

2018-19 MCAC Women's Basketball Northern All-Division Teams

Coach-of-the-Year:  Katherine Brau, Hibbing Community College,  Hibbing, MN




Year   Hometown    State

Daeja Monroe

Rainy River Community College

 So.     Houston, TX

Bethany Baldwin

Hibbing Community College

 Fr.     Watersmeet, MI

Brooke Heggie

Northland Community & Technical College

 So.     Alexandria, MN

Alexis Desjarlait

Hibbing Community College

 Fr.      Red Lake, MN

Sherae' Cherenfant

Hibbing Community College

 So.     Deland, FL





Year  Hometown    State

Carly Mekash

Northland Community & Technical College

 Fr.      Greenbush, MN

Paige Wallevand

Central Lakes College

 Fr.      Henning, MN

Janie Wunderlich

Northland Community & Technical College

 Fr.      Perham, MN

Kyndra Beavers

Lake Superior College

 Fr.       Litchfield, MN

Perrisha Cox

Rainy River Community College

 Fr.       Waco, TX





Year    Hometown    State

Davane Gross

Rainy River Community College

 So.       Chicago, IL

Maggie Fellerman

Central Lakes College

 Fr.        Aitkin, MN

Terri Sutton

Vermilion Community College

 Fr.        St. Paul,  MN

Haley Hanson

Mesabi Range College

 Fr.         Iron, MN

Hannah Morris

Hibbing Community College

 So.     Grand Rapids, MN



For more information on women's basketball in the Minnesota College Athletic Conference, please visit: http://www.mcacsports.org/sports/wbkb/index

NJCAA Division III Women's Basketball Statistical Leaders: http://njcaa.org/sports/wbkb/2018-19/div3/leaders

MCAC Women's Basketball Standings: http://www.mcacsports.org/sports/wbkb/2018-19/standings

MCAC Women's Basketball Statistical Leaders: http://www.mcacsports.org/sports/wbkb/2018-19/leaders

MCAC Women's Basketball Schedule: http://www.mcacsports.org/sports/wbkb/2018-19/schedule


All things NJCAA Basketball can be found on the NJCAA Basketball Twitter feed; click below for more info:


This release sponsored by: 


About the Minnesota College Athletic Conference

The Minnesota College Athletic Conference is the organizational body for NJCAA-affiliated two-year technical and community college athletic programs in the Minnesota State system.  The mission of the Minnesota College Athletic Conference is to advance intercollegiate athletics by providing an engaging and supportive environment for success of our student athletes and competition among member institutions.  The MCAC is committed to the guiding principles of encouraging the development and success of student athletes, promoting the integrity, honesty and loyalty to member schools as well as upholding the sustainability of conference athletic programs.